Matt Townsend – “The Drifter and the Dream part 1”.

new EP from acclaimed North Carolina indie folk artist Matt Townsend entitled “The Drifter and the Dream part 1”.
The Drifter and the Dream (Part I) is the first installment of a two-part EP series. It features some of Western North Caroli-na’s finest musicians, such as Bill Berg (Drums on Bob Dylan’s Blood on the Tracks) River Guerguerian, Kat Williams, Franklin Keel, Jackson Dulaney, Carly Taich, Charles Gately (Doc Aquatic), Ryan Burns.

The album was produced by Michael Selverne (Welcome to Mars productions) at Echo Mountain Recording Studios. With this new offering, Townsend has moved (mostly) away from the solo acoustic sound of his first two albums, and has developed toward a more eclectic, spacious sound. Drawing on influences from American folk, 60’s rock and pop, american indie rock, and ambient music, The Drifter and The Dream maps out a fresh avenue in his growing catalog.

Matt Townsend is performing with his band throughout the East Coast in support of this album. He has also launched a Kickstarter for the project.

Share “Came Down from the Mountain” via Bandcamp: https://matttownsendmusic.bandcamp.com/album/the-drifter-and-the-dream-part-i

With his distinctive voice, and a world weary insight, Matt Townsend delivers his original songs, formed in the wells of Folk music, 60’s rock and pop, indie rock, ambient music and the American songwriting tradition.Live, his band flows from high energy rock and roll, to quiet folk tunes and back. Bob Dylan, Neutral Milk Hotel, Neil Young are counted among some of his musical guiding lights.

The Asheville, North Carolina-based musician has been performing across the country since 2012. 2016 marks the anticipated release of Townsend’s latest work, The Drifter and the Dream (Part I), a five-track EP, which is part one of a double EP series. The songs were recorded at Echo Mountain Studios in Asheville with producer Michael Selverne (Welcome to Mars Productions), and features Bill Berg (The drummer on the Minnesota sessions for Bob Dylan’s Blood on the Tracks, Cat Stevens, Leo Kottke). The first EP explores the personal relationship to social and political issues, spiritual connection, and humanness in a de-humanizing society. Along with recording and touring, Townsend is also the the founder of Eternal Mind Records, a new arts collective and record label in Asheville, NC.

In addition to recording his own album, Townsend was tapped to work with the Asheville Symphony for its latest release, The Asheville Symphony Sessions. Townsend’s song on the compilation, “For Now, We Are,” was arranged by Michael Bearden (Neil Young, Michael Jackson, Lady Gaga).

To learn more about Matt Townsend and his upcoming dates, visit matttownsendmusic.com.
Band/Artist: Matt Townsend
Location: Asheville, NC
Styles: Indie-Folk, Americana, Folk-Rock
Similar to/RIYL: Bob Dylan, Neil Young, Neutral Milk Hotel, Iron & Wine, Josh Ritter

CD: The Drifter and the Dream (part I)
Release date: December 2
Featured artist on the “Asheville Symphony Sessions” a collaborative record of 8 Asheville artists (including Steep Canyon Rangers and Lizz Wright) with the Asheville Symphony Orchestra. http://ashevillesymphony.org/sessions/ , Also one of 3 artists who performed a sold-out show (1,000 cap club) with the Symphony for the release of this album.
Performed at LEAF Festival May and Oct 2015 and July 2016.
Will be playing the south Florida Folk Festival in January.
Opened for Sister Sparrow and the Dirty Birds, Big Thief, Ballroom Thieves, Family and Friends.
Toured the Eastern US playing over 180+ shows across the rom 2014-2016.
Joined Welcome to Mars Productions.
Founded Eternal Mind Records, a record label/arts collective based in Asheville. (www.eternalmindrecords.com)

Matt Townsend – Vocals, Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar
Bill Berg – Drums
Rodney Easter Jr. – Bass
Jackson Dulaney – Lap Steel
Franklin Keel –Cello
River Guerguerian- Percussion
Carly Taich – Backing vocals
Kat Williams –Backing vocals
Adam Bonomo –Piano and Organ
Michael Selverne – Acoustic guitar
Charles Gately –Synth
Ryan Burns – Organ

All songs written by Matt Townsend (ASCAP)
Produced by Michael Selverne
for Welcome to Mars
Recorded by Julian Dreyer at Echo Mountain Recording, Asheville, NC.
Mixed by Michael Selverne and Julian Dreyer at Welcome to Mars, Asheville, NC
Mastered By Eric Boulanger at The Bakery

The Great American Madness
Came Down From the Mountain
Roaming Twilight
Freedom is Calling Again

Instagram: @matt_townsend_music

Artist contact: [email protected]
Press contact: [email protected]independentmusicpromotions.com

Bookmark the permalink.


  1. Sounds interesting as usual,thanks for all the new artists you introduce us to.

  2. I love reading up on these new (to me) artists, thank you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.